Hard Time Vegan: An Ex-Prisoner’s Story

Jan Smitowicz's Author Blog

Image drawn by vegan prisoner Danielle Wolfe in Dickerson Detention Facility (2013) Image drawn by vegan prisoner Danielle Wolfe in Dickerson Detention Facility (2013)

Next month (April 2014) will be my eight-year Veganniversary. From 2010 through 2012, I served just under two years in Illinois prisons. Aside from a few accidents based on false information, I stayed vegan in County Jail, in Receiving (24-hour lockdown), for my 18 months in the high-minimum-security Jacksonville Correctional Center, and my three months in the medium-security “Disciplinary Prison,” Logan Correctional Center. You may be surprised to find that, overall, it wasn’t at all hard to be vegan, even in Midwestern-U.S. prisons!

Note that I used the caveat overall. Because at the beginning, it was physically outrageous. Dangerous, even. When my mother and I said our tearful goodbyes on the Henry County Jail steps, I was chubbier (on purpose) than I’d been since early puberty. That fine spring day, I weighed 183 pounds.

My two…

View original post 1,318 more words

Leave a Reply

