Pictorial Highlight: SEQUOIA part 2

Black bear; we also saw her two beautiful young cubs, sadly I didn't get any good shots of them.  Mama's keeping a close eye on us =)

Black bear; we also saw her two beautiful young cubs, sadly I didn’t get any good shots of them. Mama’s keeping a close eye on us =)

Sequoia 4-09 264

Sequoia 4-09 289

Me saying hi to a beautiful red fir.

Me saying hi to a beautiful red fir.

The same lovely red fir <3

The same lovely red fir ❤

Sequoia 4-09 129

Sequoia 4-09 051

More fire scars, along with some sequoia seedlings in front--imagine that one day those tiny babies could in a millenia be as big as the sentinel over them!!

More fire scars, along with some sequoia seedlings in front–imagine that one day those tiny babies could in a millenia be as big as the sentinel over them!!

Almost got stuck in the middle of this river rock-hopping.  Scary jump required, nearly got swept away.

Almost got stuck in the middle of this river rock-hopping. Scary jump required, nearly got swept away.

Sequoia 4-09 018

Showing the PHENOMENAL girth of sequoias, and once again their stunning ability to survive massive wildfires (look at the size of the burn scar!)

Showing the PHENOMENAL girth of sequoias, and once again their stunning ability to survive massive wildfires (look at the size of the burn scar!)

General Grant Sequoia tree (I hate they name all these amazing individuals with the names of Indian et. al. killers  "/

General Grant Sequoia tree (I hate they name all these amazing individuals with the names of Indian et. al. killers “/

"Common fiddleneck" flowers; I didn't notice until I made this Pictorial, but there's a giant fucking spider on the left flower that almost made me scream when I realized, LOL.  And an ant on the right flower who didn't make me scream =p

“Common fiddleneck” flowers; I didn’t notice until I made this Pictorial, but there’s a giant fucking spider on the left flower that almost made me scream when I realized, LOL. And an ant on the right flower who didn’t make me scream =p

PDX Road Trip 265

coyote 2

6 thoughts on “Pictorial Highlight: SEQUOIA part 2

  1. Susan Whistler

    Really beautiful pictures, Jan! Love the bear and the coyote especially, and the pictures that show how huge the sequoias are. We see a lot of wildlife around here and I have heard coyotes in the woods but haven’t seen any. Be careful rock-hopping!

    Reply
    1. TheRewildWest Post author

      With my knees having regressed, my rock hopping days are pretty much over “/ these pics are mostly from march 2007 when I went up there with mom and jimmy 🙂

      Reply
    1. TheRewildWest Post author

      Thanks so much! S/hes actually a coyote, sadly I’ve never seen a wild wolf (in fact, there is literally *ONE* wild wolf living in California, they were extinct in the state until he wandered in northeastern CA in the last few years); that’s the same coyote as the one in the first picture in Part 1 =) Thanks for your comment!

      Reply
      1. Vegan Rabbit

        I saw a coyote once in Malibu. I was kind of scared because I was all alone at night stranded, but just watching him or her was enthralling.

Leave a Reply

