Travel Theme: RED

Red–passion, blood, iron oxide, a lack of chlorophyll in the case of the Snow Plant, and this week’s travel theme from Ailsa’s Where’s My Backpack? blog.

Death Valley.

The magnificent ocotillo plant, this individual flowering in Joshua Tree National Park.

Stunning geology and iron oxide and sedimentary stratification in Red Rock Canyon State Park, in the northern Mojave Desert of California.

Snow Plant in Yosemite National Park; they apparently “supplement [their] nutrient intake by at least partially parasitizing the roots of pine trees by means of a shared mycorrhizal fungus.” (Info found HERE)

Seqoiadendron Giganteum individual in Sequoia National Park, with me for frame of reference. The most voluminous trees in the world.

2 thoughts on “Travel Theme: RED

    1. TheRewildWest Post author

      Yes, almost every single photograph I post is from California =) It is my beloved home state, where I’ve spent my whole life (except for road trips, of course, and 2 years of prison in Illinois, heh), and where I plan to spend the rest of my life. In fact I think there are exactly TWO pictures on my whole site not in California (a couple Oregon pictures in the NATURE PHOTOGRAPHY section) =) Thanks for the compliments!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

