David: An Addendum

I recently made the 400-plus mile drive to Southern California for the wedding of my oldest friend (we’ve known each other since 7th grade, went to middle school, high school, and college together); at the tail end of my trip I decided to visit David’s gravesite; it’s been a while, probably close to four years (because I moved up north, and because of 22.5 months of prison).  I just wanted to say hi and tell him I love him and bring it all home in a visceral way in preparation for writing the previous entry.

His gravestone had grass intruding on it, so I began to brush it off.  It was pretty dark out.  I felt something on my hand and arm.  Ants!  Shitloads of them!  Crawling and biting!  I quickly brushed them off, but I had at least 11 significant bites–one of the little bastards was even latched onto my skin.  I know they were just protecting their home, so I can’t hold it against them.  But hot damn did it sting!

Easily hundreds of them, and so very angry!

This was the next day, and shows a couple of the 11 bad bites; but they later looked a helluva lot worse, and I still have scars/scabs more than a week after the fact!

This incident is symbolic of nothing.

Leave a Reply

