Intro (part 3 of 3)

The Rewild West is also a photography project, which will soon be reflected on the web page’s content. It is also an epic nonfiction book in the works, currently in the research stage. I will occasionally post sections of the book. Eventually on this website I hope to self-publish and then sell other works of fiction that I have completed.

The Rewild West in a nutshell is a unique view into California, my home state. It is the most populous state in the nation by far. It contains some of the most spectacular natural features in the nation: the lowest point in the northern hemisphere (Badwater Basin in Death Valley at 282 feet below sea level), the highest point in the lower 48 (Mount Whitney at 14, 505 feet), the largest trees by volume in the world (Giant Sequoias), the tallest trees in the world (Coast Redwoods), and the longest-lived trees in the world (Ancient Bristlecone Pines). This is just a small sampling of the spectacular natural features of California, which I will discuss at length on this blog and in my book: their ecology, their importance, and my adventurous (sometimes drug-and-danger-filled) journeys to these places. I will also explore the myriad ways in which this state used to be an unbroken, untrammeled paradise before the death march of syphilization arrived. Finally, I will discuss the ways in which we can work to restore and recapture this real-world Eden, here and in the rest of the world.

This blog will sometimes feature things that seem off-topic. But rambling is one of my fortes, and sometimes tangents can reveal things that might not otherwise come out. I will post my musings on the burgeoning police state, the racist criminal “justice” system and prisons, the failed Drug War, the failed so-called War on Terrorism (hey, if you’re gonna have a War on Terror, start at home bomb oil refineries), my reviews of pertinent literature and movies, and so forth. I hope you learn a thing or two. Most importantly, I hope I can help inspire you to take effective action against the megamachine! Thanks for reading. SMASH CIV!

Leave a Reply

